Little Lord Fauntleroy

A story about an ancient inheritance into which Cedric Errol (Ceddie), also called Little Lord Fauntleroy, comes through the workings of fate after first his eldest uncle and successor-in-title to the earldom of Dorincourt, dies, then his second uncle, the new...

The Merchant of Venice

Since William Shakespeare wrote this play almost five hundred years ago, there have of course been innumerable reviews and interpretations of the work in several living languages, numerous stage play productions with adaptations sometimes to whatever were at the time...

Heidi

There are a few notable aspects to this book: The moving description of nature, especially the mountain world of the Swiss alps – the “Alm”. The character portraits and the way in which the different characters relate to one another, coming from differing backgrounds...

The Grand Inquisitor

Embedded in Dostoevsky’s “The Brothers Karamazov” is an essay or prose poem titled “The Grand Inquisitor”, which probably reflects the recognitions gained by Dostoevsky himself after many inner struggles. In this essay or parable, Dostoevsky seems to be expressing his...

Turgen der Jäger

Nicholas Kalashnikoff Turgen der Jäger   Amerikanischer Originaltitel: The Defender Herausragendes Kinderbuch. Schlicht, warmherzig, tiefsinnig wird Turgen beschrieben, der einsam auf einer sibirischen Berghöhe lebt und es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht hat, eine Herde...

Ein Hauch (Ursula Muheim)

Ein Hauch   Ein Hauch hat dich berührt. Hast du es wohl gespürt? Ein Hauch, sekundenschnell. Wo ist sein gleissend Quell? Wie tief er dich ergreift, dein Innerstes erschütternd steift. Wie licht er dich durchdringt, wie’s mahnend in dir klingt. In dir ruft nur ein...

Treffpunkt Weltzeituhr

Isolde Heyne Treffpunkt Weltzeituhr Inka ist in Leipzig zu DDR-Zeiten geboren. Als sie zwei Jahre alt ist, lassen ihre Eltern sie bei der Großmutter, wollen in den Westen flüchten und rechnen damit, Oma und Kind bald nachholen zu können. Alles ist gut geplant, doch es...

Ferdinand

Munroe Leaf mit Bildern von Robert Lawson Ferdinand   Amerikanischer Originaltitel: The Story of Ferdinand Aus dem Amerikanischen von Fritz Güttinger. Copyright der deutschsprachigen Ausgabe © 1977, 2013 Diogenes Verlag AG Zürich   Stierkind Ferdinand ist...

Gratwanderung

Jewgenia Ginsburg Gratwanderung Russischer Originaltitel: Крутой маршрут Stellen Sie sich bildhaft vor: Sie werden unvermutet verhaftet, verhört, unschuldig verurteilt zu zehn Jahren Straflager ins kälteste Sibirien, wo Sie als politischer Häftling zwischen...